Fashion blog – Aussie Fashion Blog

Fashion that is evocative of sun, fun & life!

Fashion blog- what you need to be Beautiful!

Leave a comment

imgres-4

Love your body!

In this day and age there is a lot of talk about weight and appearance. Nutritionist distributing diet plans and hollering out health risks involved with being obese. Plus size women demanding acceptance for their genetic predisposition and ironically joining in the chorus are naturally size zero models!

Where do I fit in? I’m trying to get everyone to focus on the main purpose, to look and feel good! If you accept your body type then you will be less sensitized to what the world hollers out at you and the worldly wise will have something to remark one way or another.

As a kid who grew up in an Arab land where dressing was ultra chic but conservative and then finding my self in college where the style was uber cool and relaxed, I was a square peg in a round hole!

Four years later I arrived with my ripped jeans, tussled hair, heavy silver accessories and varsity tees straight into the corporate world where I was told to chop off my ‘overflowing hairdo’ and get some suits, black or charcoal if you please.

Now, I live in sunny Adelaide where I am back to my ripped jean shorts, flip-flops, floral tops and aviators to give a dollop of oomph. I can easily transform into a form fitting charcoal suit with court shoes and a tightly pulled bun. My stint in the aviation industry taught me that a neat hairdo and stockings always gives the impression of being well groomed.

I learned a lot from being cabin crew for one of the leading airlines of the world. One of the most shocking lessons was that looks aren’t everything, grooming is! Yes, I never believed it until I experienced it! Did you know that aviation uniforms are designed to make everyone look alike? Yes, the idea is to make every crewmember look like as if he or she just rolled off an assembly line! Which means everyone had to look similar whether they were tall or short (minimum height), fat (highest weight acceptable for that height) or thin (minimum acceptable weight), beautiful or average. There were variations I assure you, the criteria for choosing a crew was primarily personality, looks actually came second.

The uniforms are so styled that they overpower the wearers look and instead stress on the bold colours, the strong style and the overall effect. Once the most gorgeous girls wore them they were transformed into, wait for it, mannequins that afforded no competition what so ever to the overwhelming design, contour and colours. Yes, that’s exactly why normal guys in a uniform always look so much dapper and the wow factor just falls off along with the uniform! That’s also another reason, no crewmember actually post pictures of themselves in their uniform, we look much, much better in casuals.

So what’s my point? Clothes and good grooming is what one needs to look awesome. So stop beating yourself over your body type, offcourse by all means exercise if you have to loose those heath-affecting pounds but not because you want to look good. Looking good and feeling good about your body has nothing to do with your weight unless you intend to pose for a bikini photo-shoot for the cover of vogue, other than that it really isn’t important.

The biggest mistake a woman can do is try to look like someone she is not. You need to discover you true unique style, if you are a flower child (I know I am!) then stop trying to wear form fitting little dresses, even if you have a fabulous figure. It’s not you and that should be reason enough. If you always felt comfortable in leather and tight jeans and not just because ‘so and so’ looked wow in it then by all means go for it.

Naturally, if you haven’t been brainwashed by fashion houses and fashion forums into believing what is cool and what is not, then you will ideally end up choosing a style that not only feels good but also compliments your personality and brings out your personality.

So why do so many women end up not looking their natural best? Many factors, brainwashing is top most but also equally important is the fear to be themselves. I should know, I always wanted to wear denim but in my family it was considered unbecoming, I still cannot get myself to wear jeans for socially important events where the dress code is casual.

Another major factor is availability. How many times have you walked into a store wanting something and were told it’s not available, out of stock, no one makes them any more etc.? As a denim girl my signature outfit is stone washed sky blue jeans with a cool, tad oversized white shirt, usually tied. The problem with white shirts is that they never stay white for too long. Having three toddlers with a love for finger painting doesn’t help either.

I cannot recall the number of times I have come away frustrated at not being able to find such a classic, no, not the ones with the fancy cufflinks, no, not the latest form fitting stretchable office whites, no, just a simple white shirt, no, no pockets, it kills the ‘look’.

That’s why I’m excited about thebargainboutique.com.au it is supposed to be the answer to my prayers. With classic pieces and basic standard items that are essential to every wardrobe in classic colours and fabulous fabric, it sounds like a dream come true. I’m waiting fingers crossed and hoping for some goodies that they will be giving during their launch.

I’ll keep you posted!

The Bargain Boutique

 

Author: Antonia Rapheal

An aspiring writer, blogger, PR professional & mother of three. I blog on life, love, God, family, kids and everything in between!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,191 other followers